European Wilderness Academy Dayst

The AEON Environmental Foundation and the Secretariat of the Convention on Biological Diversity are seeking nominations for its Midori prize for Biodiversity 2016, with the aim to raise public awareness about the importance of biodiversity. You can apply until June  30, 2016.

The MIDORI Prize honors three individuals who have made outstanding contributions to conservation and sustainable use at local and global levels, and who have influenced and strengthened various biodiversity-related efforts, as well as raised awareness about biodiversity.

Each prize winner will be awarded a wooden plaque, a commemorative gift and a monetary prize of 100,000 US dollars. The Award Ceremony will be held in Cancún, Mexico, in December 2016

The MIDORI Prize is open to everyone contributing to conservation and sustainable use of biodiversity in the field of practical action, science, policy or public awareness.

Accomplishment will be assessed on its:

  • International contribution
  • Contribution to conservation and sustainable use of biodiversity
  • Social contribution
  • Long-term perspective and continuity
  • Creativity and originality
  • Civic mindedness and breadth of perspective
  • Efficacy and influence

 Here are the Winners of 2014:

  • Kamal Bawa, President of Ashoka Trust for Research in Ecology and the Environment (ATREE), India, and Distinguished Professor of university of Massachusetts, Boston. Dr. Bawa is globally recognized for the results of his research on tropical forests. Through developing new methods and genetic markers he has shown that forest fragmentation, widespread in the tropics, depletes biodiversity. He has led research on conservation biology for many years, including on the extraction of non-timber products and on mainstreaming biodiversity into agricultural landscapes. He established the Ashoka Trust for Research in Ecology and the Environment (ATREE) as a research institution for biodiversity conservation and sustainable development.
  • Alfred Oteng-Yeboah, Chair of Ghana National Biodiversity Committee, Ghana who is a leader in biodiversity-related foras, including as a representative of Africa. He has held several important positions within international biodiversity-related institutions including as Chair of the Subsidiary Body on Scientific, Technical and Technological Advice (SBSTTA). He has led international negotiations on biodiversity from a global perspective and his work had, and continues to have, an impact worldwide. Importantly, he contributed to the establishment and management of the Intergovernmental Science-Policy Platform on Biodiversity and Ecosystem Services (IPBES) through advocating the importance of dialogues between science and policy.
  • Bibiana Vilá, Director of Vicuñas, Camelids and Environment (VICAM), and Principal Researcher of National Research Council (CONICET), Argentina. Specialized in the conservation of wild vicuñas in the Andean altiplano, Dr. Vilá has led the implementation of conservation measures integrating both traditional knowledge of indigenous communities and modern science including ecology and animal welfare. The work of Dr. Vilá demonstrates that local-based projects can have repercussions at the regional and global levels.

Special Prize for the International Year of Biodiversity 2010 was awarded to Angela Merkel who has demonstrated strong leadership of global environmental issues including climate change and biodiversity conservation policy at national, EU and international levels as the Chancellor of Germany

For more information, please visit:


About Author

Iryna Shchoka is a regional development expert and is based in Uzhhorod, Ukraine.

Leave A Reply

Translate »