European Wilderness Society

A new knowledge exchange platform for UNESCO World Heritage Beech Forests launched

The Interreg BEECH POWER project has recently launched a unique online platform. The platform serves as a networking and knowledge sharing hub on World Heritage Beech Forests. The platform was initiated by partners involved in the BEECH POWER project, supported by the Coordination office of the UNESCO World Heritage Site ‘Ancient and Primeval Beech Forests of the Carpathians and Other Regions of Europe’ at the Sonian Foundation (Belgium). 

A pilot platform to exchange knowledge

The platform aims to support communication and cooperation between protected area management teams and responsible public authorities of protected areas comprising the World Heritage component parts. It provides access to several WH relevant documents and can be continuously updated with additional information and data relating to the World Heritage Site and its component parts.

The platform offers an opportunity to discuss and learn about protected areas comprising UNESCO World Heritage Beech Forest component parts. Furthermore, it enables all users to share information on their component part/protected areas. These include best-practice examples, management plans, research results, education activities, etc. It offers possibilities for future cooperation through development of joint projects and initiatives, strategies and capacity building activities. The aim of the BEECH POWER project for the creation of this pilot platform is to enable involved actors to exchange knowledge and good practices regarding World Heritage component part management. It should further serve a platform for initiating a dialogue between relevant stakeholders and for strengthening cooperation that will create mutual benefits for the World Heritage Site!

How can you join?

The platform is open to all actors and practitioners from the World Heritage Beech Forest network. Anyone affiliated with, or expressing interest to support the World Heritage Site can join. We invite you to register and share your views in lively discussions! Please send your expression of interest to: Caroline Celis, Hanna Öllös at and Marcus Waldherr at

The UNESCO World Heritage Beech Forests

The UNESCO World Heritage Series “Ancient and Primeval Beech Forests of the Carpathians and Other Regions of Europe” is proud to announce its extension with 6 additional States Parties: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Czechia, France, North Macedonia, Poland and Switzerland. Furthermore, it also adds new component parts from Slovakia and Italy. This extension incorporates 15 new protected areas to the largest serial World Heritage property. More precious forest areas in other countries could even follow. With 94 sites in 18 countries, it is the only World Heritage Site globally that connects that many components. It covers areas in Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, France, Germany, Italy, Croatia, Czechia, North Macedonia, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, and Ukraine. Such a network requires strong collaboration across boundaries and illustrates the close relationship of the beech forest within European culture.

Please Leave a Comment